School Resources

List Of Participating Schools


Abbeville High School - Abbeville
Educator Devin Romero

Academy of Our Lady - Marrero
Educator Tracie Comeaux 

Albany High School - Albany
Educator Maegan Howes

Alfred Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School - Kenner
Educator Emile Meydrich

Arlington Preparatory Academy - Baton Rouge
Educator Helen Batiste-Sheppard

Ascension Parish ProStart - Geismar
Educator Traci Hymel

Belaire High School - Baton Rouge
Educator- Jocelyn Stewart

Broadmoor Senior High School - Baton Rouge
Educator Amy Lynn Queret-Mitchell

Caddo Career & Technology Center - Shreveport
Educators Suzanne McKinnon & Brandon Candler

Castor High School - Castor
Educator Miranda Smith

Chalmette High School - Chalmette
Educator Sulley Williams

Covington High School - Covington
Educator Stephanie Buchholtz

College Street Vocational Center - Lake Charles
Educator Corey Aguillard                                    

Denham Springs High School - Denham Springs
Educator Jamie Manotas

Donaldsonville High School - Donaldsonville
Educator Angela Amedee

East Iberville High School - St. Gabriel
Educator Delores Pointer  

East St. John High School - Reserve
Educator Lydia White

Edible Schoolyard New Orleans - New Orleans
Educator Callie Rubbins-Breen

Edna Karr High School – New Orleans
Educator Kenneth Trahan

Eunice Career & Technical Education Center - Eunice
Educator Lennie Degeyter

Fontainebleau High School - Mandeville
Educator Stacey Russell

Franklinton High School - Franklinton
Educator Brenda Miller

French Settlement High School - French Settlement
Educator Robin Crifasi

Hammond High Magnet School - Hammond
Educator Angie Drago

Iberia Parish Career Center – New Iberia
Educator Maxine Bourque

John Ehret High School- Marrero
Educators Holly Marchese and Rachel Bolotte

Lafourche Parish School District ProStart – Lockport
Educators Becky LeBlanc & Dwayne Guidry

Lakeshore High School - Mandeville
Educator Judy Achary    

Leesville High School - Leesville
Educator Tammy Wilber

Live Oak High School - Denham Springs
Educator Angell Beswetherick

Louisiana School for the Deaf – Baton Rouge
Educator Amy Jarrett

Mandeville High School - Mandeville
Educator Tyra Koeppen

Mamou High School – Mamou                      
Educator Jahn Montelaro


Mansfield High School - Mansfield
Educator Alicia Bradley

Morgan City High School - Morgan City
Educator Meagan Whitten

Natchitoches Central High School - Natchitoches
Educator Ramona Williams

North Vermilion High School - Maurice
Educator Daphne Smith

Northeast High School- Pride
Educator Brandon Couvillon

Northshore High School - Slidell
Educator Charlotte McLain

Pearl River High School - Pearl River
Educator Russell Anne Howard

Pineville High School - Pineville
Educator Amy Thomas

Rayne High School - Rayne
Educator Tanya Huynh

Red River High School – Coushatta
Educator Wanda Lemoine

Richwood High School - Monroe
Educator Arkeia Thomas

Ringgold High School – Ringgold
Educator Yolanda Scott

Saline High School - Saline
Educator Amy Warren

Salmen High School - Slidell
Educator Allison Armand

Slidell High School - Slidell
Educator Stephen Aucoin

Springfield High School - Springfield
Educator Carol Tate

St. Charles Satellite Center - Luling
Educator Patrick Phelan

St. James Parish Career & Tech. Center - Lutcher
Educator Rachael Schnexnayder

St. Martin Parish College & Career Readiness Center – Breaux Bridge
Educator Sharon Guillory

Sulphur High School - Sulphur
Educator Cassady Hickingbottom

Tara High School - Baton Rouge
Educator Patricia Cooke

Terrebonne Career & Technical High School - Houma
Educator Renee LeCompte

Washington Career & Technical Education Center - Washington
Educator Candy Janice-Palumbo

Walker High School – Walker
Educator Ashley Brown

W.D. & Mary Baker Smith Career Center - Lafayette
Educators Bonita St. Julien Herb Menard

West End Instructional Center - Jennings
Educator Kelly Billeaudeaux

West Feliciana High School - St. Francisville
Educator Amy Dreher

West Monroe High School - West Monroe
Educator Amy Cheveallier

West St. John High School - Edgard
Educator Lorenzo Edwards

Woodlawn High School - Baton Rouge
Educator Steven Oubre

Workforce Career Academy – New Orleans
Educator Jo Ann Jordan

Zachary High School - Zachary
Educator Paula Richard

LRAEF ProStart ® Program Standards


  1. The school must be approved by the LRAEF to implement the ProStart Program.

  2. The school must be currently teaching foodservice, culinary arts, hospitality, nutrition, or other related program.

  3. The ProStart Educator is required to be certified as a ServSafe Instructor and a Secondary Foodservice Educator through the National Restaurant Association.

  4. The school must agree to purchase and utilize the latest ProStart Program educational materials.

  5. The school must teach entire ProStart I & II curriculum.

  6. ServSafe food safety certification program will be taught as part of the ProStart Program.

  7. ProStart I & II national exams are required to be used as the final exam for each course.

  8. Each school is required to ensure that at least 50 percent of the students in the program receive the ProStart Certification of Achievement and/or ServSafe Certification.

  9. To begin the program, the student must be 16 years of age and have taken at least one foods course.

  10. Students must maintain at least a 2.0 GPA.

  11. Commercial kitchen equipment must be utilized by all ProStart Programs.

  12. The educator must:

    • attend LRAEF ProStart professional development workshops annually

    • submit program updates and an annual report to the LRAEF ProStart Coordinator

    • identify industry mentors and work internship sites in the community

    • provide assistance with tracking students who graduate from the ProStart Program

In order for your school to become a ProStart® Site, the following criteria must be met:

  1. Currently be teaching a foodservice, culinary arts, marketing, hospitality or other related program.

  2. Have a successful track record of business/education partnerships

  3. Have an instructor with industry-related experience or the willingness to complete an industry externship.

  4. Appoint a school coordinator (this can be your ProStart® coordinator) or allow a teacher a reduced class schedule to coordinate activities.

  5. Allow the instructor and/or appropriate staff to be given release time for industry sponsored professional development (i.e. trip to Hospitality Conference/Expo, job shadow, teacher conference and training, site visits for monitoring students).

  6. Have enough available worksites in your school’s area to support your program.

If the above criteria have been met then please submit a letter of interest on official letterhead, along with the following supporting information.
  • Documentation of any existing articulation agreements and/or file for any that pertains to hospitality.

  • List of business and industry partners and the year each partnership was established.

  • Copy of course descriptions (foodservice, culinary arts, marketing, hospitality or related programs) and the number of years the program has been taught.

  • List of instructor(s) name, number of years teaching related course(s) and a description of industry training.

Schools selected to participate in the ProStart Program agree to implement the following:
  • Establish a local advisory board.

  • Recruit students.

  • Assist with matching students with employers for internships.

  • Conduct local PR and marketing (coordinate with state director).

  • Serve as a liaison to state director.

  • Communicate with students, parents, counselors, employers and administrators on program specifics including internship requirements.